First underwater rig - S95 or G12?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

hypertech

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
I'm a very experienced photographer topside. I mainly shoot Canon SLRs. However, I do not want to spend the money or deal with the size of kitting one of my SLRs for use underwater. So, I'm looking for a point n shoot and a housing. I have narrowed it down to the S95 and the G12. My main goals are to have some keepsake type photos and to take video clips when I feel like it.

As far as I can tell, the main difference is that the G12 will let me use a TTL flash and the S95 is smaller. Anything thing else to keep in mind when selecting between these two? Recommendations?

SO VERY interested in the answers here. I'm in the same boat. Have lots of topside experience with Canons but new to diving and really don't want the bulk of suiting up my DSLR. I *think* I have pretty much decided on the S95 because of the lens and ability to shoot without strobes with a 2.0 aperture whenever possible.