For tall divers new to Hog BPW set up.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

oceancrest67

Reaction score
I have been diving for 11 years now. I am a PADI DM and I have embarked on the technical diving path for the past year. I just purchased a new BPW Aluminum BP set up from Dive Rite. Now I am revisiting an old question I posted some months ago...going with a custom (larger) BP. The one convincing factor is the ability to reach my manifold valves on doubles when needed in an emergency. With my BP straps adjusted so that my waste strap is where it needs to be...streamlining is no problem...but now I feel that the whole rig is low on my back (relatively speaking given that I am 6'4" and I was diving double 95's). The BPW set up worked well except for the fact that if I needed to reach my manifold valves...the reach is tough but reachable. This is disconcerting. Now I am more convinced than ever to go with a custom BP just so that I can get the manifold reach adjusted relative to my straps...and / or go with larger (longer) doubles...or drill a couple more holes in my current BP to move the tanks up an inch or two...or adjust the stainless steel tank bands down an inch or two.

I am sure many of you have struggled with this same dilemma...either the manifold is too low for a good reach or too high for a head bang.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.