Gopro 10, why 30 or 60 fps for underwater?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

WouterB

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to diving, but have been filming for awhile now. I keep reading that it is advised to set a camera to 30 or 60 fps for underwater video.
But I do not really understand why. There is allways less light below the water, and the higher the framerate, the less time each frame has for exposure on the sensor.
With 60 vs 24 fps, the time for exposure is more than doubled with 24 fps. Using 24 fps should mean lower iso and less grainy footage.

What am I missing, why is the advise for low light shooting on land "the lower the fps the better, meaning 24 fps", but for underwater I keep reading 30 or 60 fps.

What am I not understanding/missing?

Wouter

Hi,

I am new to diving, but have been filming for awhile now. I keep reading that it is advised to set a camera to 30 or 60 fps for underwater video.
But I do not really understand why. There is allways less light below the water, and the higher the framerate, the less time each frame has for exposure on the sensor.
With 60 vs 24 fps, the time for exposure is more than doubled with 24 fps. Using 24 fps should mean lower iso and less grainy footage.

What am I missing, why is the advise for low light shooting on land "the lower the fps the better, meaning 24 fps", but for underwater I keep reading 30 or 60 fps.

What am I not understanding/missing?

Wouter

Hi Wouter,