Got back into diving and bought new equipment

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

elbig

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I have been diving for 30 years but got out of it years ago except occasional vacation dives . I recently decided I wanted to get back into it since I moved to Southeast Florida. I completed my Advanced Open Water and wanted to get my own equipment. I read this board and understandably have seen many opinions about equipment.

My goal was to buy quality gear from a trusted LDS. I chose a Scubapro dealer and and very happy with my choices. I have the MK25EVO/S620 ti reg, G2 computer and Hydros Pro bc. Not only do I love this stuff, I get great support from the dealer. Some may say that the dealer just pushed all the top of line to up the sale. I don't see it that way. We discussed in great detail my situation and I am very pleased with the result.

I have read many threads about buying used, doing self-maintenance, etc for rec divers. I have no problem with that at all but I wouldn't completely dismiss going the trusted LDS route and buying new. There is a support and comfort level that increases overall experience. They seem eager to answer all my questions and have spent a lot of time with me. They have even recommended some options that they do not carry.

Overall my experience has been excellent and I wanted to put in plug for supporting an LDS.