Help Me Pick A Sea Dragon!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

topher

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I have a DC1400 and am learning to use it. So far I really love it. But-I really need a flash and am ready to buy one. I am a novice but love shooting macro life -see below. However, without a real flash rig everything not macro or very shallow is overly blue (see sea star below and profile pic
PICT0715.JPG
PICT0726.JPG
)- I guess I'm preaching to the choir... Anyway I'm confused about the lighting options and the sea life website is not very good at explaining lights/strobes etc to the novice. Wondering if you guys can give me your opinion on lighting systems to add to the DC1400. Thanks

This looks pretty good. And it seems that the light can double as another dive light. if I am shooting mostly stills is this overkill?

Sea Dragon Duo 2000 with Flash | Sealife Cameras

Personally, I'm not a fan of the video light/strobe combos. Reason being you have two different light sources from one side to the other which can potentially cause uneven lighting. However, I'm a big fan of some of the other SeaLife setups.