How much strobe is really necessary?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

alcina:
I should have read things more carefully, sorry!
A week ago I didn't have a clue as to what an "auto flash" is. Now I'm an expert. :D

I did probably 200 test shots if not 500 the first two days I had the strobe. Towards the end my wife was threatening me with bodily harm if the strobe went off in her face one more time while she's settled in watching TV. :)

alcina:
Anywho...go to Yuzo info@naturephoto.co.jp and order an Inon 240 or similar
Yep. It all boils down to "get a real strobe" as the right answer.

Charlie99:
I did probably 200 test shots if not 500 the first two days I had the strobe. Towards the end my wife was threatening me with bodily harm if the strobe went off in her face one more time while she's settled in watching TV. :)

LOL - I don't attempt to do that to DH. I use the kitties and puppies...the cats now run and hide whenever they see the toys come out :wink:

Thanks! Looks like a full-on manual strobe (that ignores the first pre-flash) has a good area of coverage and enough power to really light the place up is the way to go. The plan isn't to stay cheap...just to not go crazy :)...as usually happens when I start shopping around for new toys.

I have been remiss in not adding: