How to handle an awkward situation

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ScubaSteve1962

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm relatively new to diving, (less than a year) and had an awkward situation happen to me. A few months after being certified I joined a dive club, and went diving with one of the members at a quarry. me being new to diving wanted to stick to the shallow side of the quarry but him having been a diver for 10+ years talked me into staying near the deep side 140'+. Since there was a thermocline at about 40' we agreed to level off at 30'. We jumped in the water gave the go down signal and started down, I started a slow descent and he went down like a rock. I tried to keep up with him but when we hit the thermocline visibility went to nothing. I came back up to 30' and looked for him for a min then I surfaced, and a few minutes later he surfaced. After that went to a shallower part and I ended up leading the dive. He had more problems controlling his buoyancy than I did. Found out yes he's been a diver for 10+ years, but hasn't been diving for 10+ years, just dives maybe once or twice a year. Which means in less than a year I have more dives than he does. How do you handle when you're the newbie and find out who you thought was the more experienced person is really all that experienced?