I need an air compressor for small dive operation.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I need some tips here. I am not an expert in dive compressors. I need an electric one (110/220).
I have a small operation in Pohnpei, Micronesia (easy shipping from the USA) and fill between 10 and 30 tanks a day.
Any suggestions in brands, sizes, used or new?
Thanks. Allois

.....not an expert in dive compressors. I need an electric one (110/220)..... fill between 10 and 30 tanks a day.
A " small 110 volt " compressor may be 4-5 CFM. 30 tanks is ALOT of tanks to fill in one day on that small voltage size compressor!! It can be done but that small of a compressor won't last but a couple of months, especially without a tank bank system. It's a balance of storage and CFM not just a compressor. If you don't have the electrical power maybe consider fuel power instead.

What kind of electrical power is available to you? I have zero clue to any of the manufacturer support structure in that part of the world or if your on your own as far maintenance / consumable parts. What do the other shops in your area run and why?

Thats a good amount of tanks, certainly need something with 100 percent duty cycle with auto drains.

Good luck!