I want to learn how to scuba dive

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
I am interested in scuba diving. I have never done it before, but I do have a dry and a wet suit, which I use for snorkeling. I live in the Redcar area and want to know if there are any good clubs there that I could join and start to learn. Can anyone tell me roughly how much it will cost to start learning, and how much the right equipment will cost me.

Just kidding! Most of us get hooked pretty hard by the scuba bug and indulge our hobby to the fullest extent of our wallets (maybe a little more sometimes). That said, it's a great hobby and one that you are continually learning and growing in. Which really appeals to me.

Your best bet would be to look in the Yellow Pages and find a Dive Shop that offers lessons. They usually run from $150 to $400 and offer a wide range of lesson material. I got certified while in the Navy in the late 70's then was out of it until last year and re-certified with SSI. Those class cost $250 and included 8 4-hour classes that combined classroom and pool work. The certification dives at a open water location and the necessary rental equipment to get that done. The students were responsible for supplying their own mask, fins and snorkel.