Ikelite DS200

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wardric

Contributor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi,

I just won an Ikelite DS200 substrobe in an amateur photo contest.

I would like to know if it's considered a good one and what are the main differences with the DS125. I am a total newbie with stobes btw.

My present camera is the Canon Powershot A-75 (yep, a point and shoot) and a Canon WP-DC30 casing. Will it be compatible with the DS200?

Thanks

Hi,

I just won an Ikelite DS200 substrobe in an amateur photo contest.

I would like to know if it's considered a good one and what are the main differences with the DS125. I am a total newbie with stobes btw.

My present camera is the Canon Powershot A-75 (yep, a point and shoot) and a Canon WP-DC30 casing. Will it be compatible with the DS200?

Thanks

Not really. It could be made to work, but I don't think you would like the results. You can not fire the DS200 with a fiber optic cable. (Nor any other Ikelite strobe that I know of.) You would have to shoot it as a slave strobe using the internal flash on your camera. This would more than likely produce a lot of back scatter from the internal flash which defeats the purpose of having a strobe. The DS200 is a great strobe for wide angle photography, but there are better strobes out there for you.