little jerk kids in kayaks

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

archman

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hey all, I'm new to living in (mainland) Florida. Dealing with rude/jerk people in the water is new to me, and figuring out the local and state rules is not so black and white as I'm used to.

I snorkel a lot off the beaches between West Palm and Lauderdale. If I'm away from an unguarded beach I use a dive flag (lifeguards don't want me in guarded beaches with a flag for some reason they have yet to explain).

Anyways, every once in a while I get these jerkface kids in kayaks sidling right up alongside my dive flag and screaming and hollering. They are a safety hazard. I want them to stay clear of my flag. Sometimes they get directly over me. My question is, how broad a protection does my flag afford me (legally)? Can I legitimately tell people in unpowered kayaks to stay the #$%^ away from my dive flag? And if so, how far away?

Any help would be *greatly* appreciated.

Children need love. I find that if get them off the kayak, wrap my arms around them, and fully deflate my BC, after about a minute's affectionate hug they hit the surface pretty quick and then go elsewhere...

Seriously though, they're supposed to stay away from the flag. As to screaming and hollering..if you're under water, who cares? And while you can legitimately tell them to go away, unless there's some sort of enforcement officer nearby there's not much else you can do.