Malaysia or Phillipines??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pekingcowboy

Reaction score
Hi all,

I just came across this message board today, and it's a great forum.

I'm going on my first dive vacation next week! (I've been saving up for a couple years now.) I was originally planning to go to Bali, to do some diving in the Gilis islands and Komodo. But after the bomb incident in Bali, I've decided that it wouldn't be a good time to go there. The airline should allow me to change that flight segment... I hope!

So, I'm wondering if I should go to the Phillipines or Malaysia for two weeks of diving & relaxation. (After the two weeks, I'll be heading to Thailand and will dive at the Similan/Surin Islands.)

I've read the posts & reviews for the Perhentians - great reviews there. But how's the diving for mid-late October?

I'd be looking to go the backpacker route...

Thanks kindly!!

You can email me at j2hui@yahoo.com if you prefer.

Jeff

Sorry to hear you won't be going to Bali coz my friend dived in Nusa Penida on Fri and saw dolphins and giant stingrays. But I would not recommend going to Bali because it is very unstable at the moment. I'm originally from Bali, but living in Singapore at the moment.

Between Malaysia & Philippines? Definitely Philippines (even though I've never been).

Popular Malaysian diving destinations (Tioman, Aur, Redang, Perhentian) are almost (if not already) closed for the season due to monsoon.