NC: Scuba diver dies after rescue

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Freewillie, I was also wondering about the volume of water in the lungs which would indicate a drowning versus an immediate stoppage of breathing. I only know what Dan's wife stated, which was there appeared to be no immediate medical cause. I am not a doctor but I would guess the suggestions noted here such as lung expansion, embolism, etc would have been apparent at autopsy, which appears not to be the case. He was already at the bottom of the line when the tragedy happened, which would make me think line jerk, negative entries, etc are also not the case. I hope there is eventually some explanation so that we might all learn from how this could happen to an experienced diver during what appeared to be an uneventful dive.

An eyewitness account notes that the diver passed out. The time from when he was last seen alive to the time when he appeared unresponsive was less than a minute. His buddy also states that when he came back after retrieving the lost fin the diver's reg was out of the mouth. By the time the diver was then brought to the surface he was completely unresponsive. By eyewitness accounts he never recovered, and one eyewitness who has contacted me in private believes he was dead when he surfaced.