Need help

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

LadyIce

Reaction score
Hi Everyone
I'm new to scuba and am taking a ACUC scuba course. This is my 5th week of a 7 week course. Things seem to be going okay so far with just a few problems ( which I hope someone can help me with). Its with equalizing- the first time that we used scuba gear(3rd week) I had to cut my down time short as I was having trouble with equalizing. I didn't get any kind of pain just a full feeling in my head. What I realized on the way home that night. I was doing the nose pinching okay and all but what I didn't do was to close off my throat. ( I was just breathing through my reg.normaly DUH). Last week when I did this the right way things went really well. When I practice doing this outside of the water I have a hard time to equalize (plug) my ears while holding my mouth open. Any suggestions on a good way to practice this? Another thing that has me a little worried is I was told that we have to swim a distance of 50-60 ft. under water with no gear etc. in order to pass. From talking to other agencies, it seems no one else has to do this. Some of the other things I found no else has to do is putting your mask and fins on under water in the shallow end as well as the deep end, having to swim 10 lengths of an olympic size pool (non stop-no gear etc.) diving to 10 feet to pick up a weight belt, treading water 5 min. each- hands only, feet only and then both. In your opion do you think this course is over kill?

LadyIce,