New to red sea diving, suggestion please

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Wisnu

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
As the title said, I'm new to red sea diving, though not new in SB.
90% of my diving is in Indonesia, from western P. Weh to Raja Ampat.
Currently living in cairo, would like to explore this region incl. the underwater.
Our first trip will be end of July to dahab.
I love easy diving and taking UWP - macro and WA,
Any suggestion and recommendation for dahab site and for our next trip is welcome (typically will be short trip 2 - 3 days diving).

Hi there

You will love Dahab ,lots of characters and wonderful coral and wonderful visability....better than Asia IMVHO. For a world class experience don't go back home without doing a liveaboard to the Brothers , Daedalus and Elphinstone. In a week last October we had mantas , several Oceania white tips and a school of Hammerheads.

Enjoy your time in Egypt

Thanks Tippy
Dahab is our starting point. We'll be living here for 3-4 years. No, hurry
I'll check and find the detail info for mentioned sites and let see if we can find a week slot in Sept for LOB

Is Sept a good month for combining a 7 day liveaboard with land tours after ? Would like very warm water for diving, but air temperatures not too hot for the land tours.

Hi mas Wisnu, wow, now in Cairo! I am planning to dive in Egypt in October. It will be my first time diving in Red Sea as well. Interesting if I can see hammerheads in Dahab - hopefully I will be as lucky as Typpytoes12!