New to the Scuba Boards, not yet certified diver. Loves to snorkel.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Elzawar01

Reaction score
I am very new to the Scuba Board. I just recently started to really enjoy snorkeling. Does anyone have any words of encouragment on scuba diving. I was so afraid of the water till my boyfriend took me snorkeling. I have really started to love and appreciated the water, and the wonderful creatures in it.
What can I do to get my license in diving? I feel so lost in this area. Especially when it comes to buying new gear. HELP!!! I reall want to get into this whole new diving hobby of mine!! Thanks!!:)

...snorkeling is what got me started in scuba diving. And now, I'm a total freak and I can't stop!

My girlfriend was also in the "I'm afraid the sharks will eat me" situation. I eventually convinced her to go with me to get certified, so we'd have an activity we could do together. It's been over six months and she hasn't done a single dive, but come June we're headed to the Keys for a week, and she's goin' one way or another! :D

There's a bunch of instructors on this board, and I'm sure someone would be able to give you a referral.

As far as gear goes, don't buy anything until you've been certified. Even then, wait a little to see what type of diving you're interested in.

Welcome to the board!...and good luck pursuing your interest...you won't regret it. :wink: