Nitrox Question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cranstonjdc

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Could someone explain the advantages of nitrox and why you would have to take a certification class for it? Im very new to diving and am just curious. All i know is it gives more bottom time which is always good.

Just a short answer, I'm sure others will go into more detail . . .

Advantages: extend one's bottom time if the diver has sufficient gas or shorten the surface interval

Class: so that one can understand the concept and computation of equivalent air depths and the understanding of PPO of gas and the result that diving oxygen enriched gas can have if not following the proper proceedures

The classes generally don't cost that much and you'll learn something . . . learning something about one's hobby, especially if it can have a seriously negative affect upon one completing one's natural nitrogen cycle, is always a good thing.

the K

As the Kraken said -- the advantage to Nitrox is that you absorb less nitrogen into your body at a given depth, if you are breathing a gas that has less nitrogen in it to begin with. This means the ability to stay longer at a given depth, before nitrogen loading mandates a return to the shallows or the surface.