Ow- Aow?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FF-EMT Diver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello all, I am a newb, Been PADI OW for 2 months I have made the Ow dives and feel pretty comfortable I will be making 4 more dives shortly, I am thinking of starting AOW shortly is this to soon?

I don't think that is to soon. If you continue diving for a while after your OW, you will eventually learn most of the topics covered in AOW through experience. Then the AOW course will not be quite as interesting, but may still be necessary for deep diving, or taking a rescue course, etc.

Imma enroute to AOW course soon. I only have my OW certification for a week so far. LoL! Movin' up the food chain pretty quick here. =P

You will hear different answers to that question here...

1. wait till you have more experience
2. take it as soon as you finish OW

There really is no 'right' answer to this question.

It depends on the divers comfort level.... are you (they) apprehensive about having to go to at least 61' for their required deep dive?

Do you want to gain more experience while diving with an instructor?
do you want to try different dives - night, wreck, boat etc?

I say go for it. I had an OW diver do his Navigation dive for his AOW as soon as he finished his last OW checkout dive. He already had good buoyancy skills and was very comfortable in the water.