Question about Specialty Courses

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MrSmitty13

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'm new to the sport of Diving and just got my certification in March. Now I've started looking at taking some of the specialty courses. A couple weeks ago I signed up for the "Wreck Diving" specialty course. I paid $75 for the class, about $15 for the book, and $30 for the DVD. I understand the class and book fee but is it really necessary to pay $30 for a 15 minute DVD when all the same information is in the book? :confused: Do you have to buy the DVD?

I would check the webpage for requirements, but they appear to have gone German. Is this the end of SSI? Chances are its only required that you watch it, not own it. Call your instructor and ask.

Dear, mrsmitty13,

The purchase or non purchase of DVD's are set by individual stores. All dive stores have overhead and some increase class fees while others require the purchase of these items. If you feel that the cost of the DVD was to expensive talk to your instructor or dive store owner and let them know how you feel. Repeat customers are their life blood so I'm sure they will take it into consideration.

Frogman266

My local SSI shop will sell you the DVDs if you want to get them but they will also allow you to stop by the store sometime before the class and watch them. I even think they will allow you to borrow them if you are someone who has been in before for training.