Ready....aim....click.....oh crap

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wildbill9

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Question for you photo buffs. How do u get pics? After many years of diving I caught the photo bug but on my last trip to Cozumel I got no good pics. You have any tips or tricks you care to share? I really don't want to use a hook (not fair to other divers imho). Or should I leave my system behind and just go with the flow? I see many incredible pics from there but I am not a professional and won't be getting a private tour

I had very little luck photographing anything in Cozumel except for one dive when we ditched out DM and the dives I made at the House reef at Scuba Club Cozumel. If I ever have to stay with a group on a drift dive I would leave the camera home. Fortunately I will never make a drift dive with a group again.

I don't think you would be allowed to use a hook in the marine park, even if you wanted to. I think you just need a DM that goes slow enough that you have time to make a few shots of the subject, take you to enough sites with relatively low current, have good buoyancy control, be prepared to spend some time swimming against the current to remain in place, and have a good strobe. I have more luck with marco shots than wide angle. It's not all that hard; will post a couple of photos I took today...drift diving...with a group...and a DM. And I am no expert by any means.

P2170583.JPG
P2170585.JPG
P2170595.JPG
P2170605.JPG
P2170618.JPG
P2170624.JPG

Last edited: