Recommendations on Cheap Photo Light

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DevilEyeDog

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Definition of Cheap: Less than $100
Yes, I am aware strobes are a MUST-HAVE and AMAZING and no photographer can live without them, BUT I am new in this game...testing out the waters with a camera and have a low budget so lights it is for me folks.

Please feel free to laugh at the proposed question of getting a decent light (or any) for under $100 for a camera (1" ball mount is what my system currently has).

Thanks for letting me pick your brains.
Yes, strobes are better. Yes, I should just save up money and drop $250+ on a better light.
Think of this as the impossible challenge though. You have $100 or less and NEED a light. :)
Thanks again!

I've gotten some decent shots with my GoPro and this dive light. The wide beam helps with not having a hot spot.

Bigblue Dive Lights

Something like the Archon D11V is inexpensive and will be ok. You could get 2 for less than $100 off Amazon.

Thanks for all your thoughts and advice!