SAC rate issues

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Alii994

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi all, I could use any advice I can get on here.

My SAC rate is terrible, I consume air quite fast and I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong.
I’ve been diving for the past 4 years, I thought I had less dives but according to my computer I have 124 dives. According to my perdix my avg SAC rate is 29 psi/min and I am consuming air worse than anyone around me.

I have good buoyancy and trim, I can always improve but I don’t think that’s the issue.

I’d like to think I’m in fairly good shape, I‘m 180cm/ 5’10 tall, I weigh around 97kg/215lbs but I honestly workout 5-6 days a week and most of that weight is muscle.
I dive without weights in saltwater and fresh water.

I would like to avoid having to purchase a set of 133 cu tanks just so I can keep up with people diving al80’s.

I am getting more into tec diving and have a class in September, I will definitely work with my instructor on it. But I’d like to keep practicing and improving until then.

If at any point I sounded arrogant in my post, please do know I do not mean to do so and I’m truly just asking for advice on here. Please let me know if there are anymore details I need to state.