scuba newbie from MD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pammyk

Reaction score
Hi...I'm new to scuba. Took my class and confined water on May 15th and 16th. Had a little trouble getting comfortable with removing my mask and clearing. Still don't love it but I can do it if I have to and I don't panic anymore. I basically don't rush it...I take my time clearing and that has helped. I think I had my mask too tight for fear of getting water in it. I've since loosened up on the mask because I have no problem clearing it if a little water gets in it...this happens all the time it seems. I also think I have a problem switching from breathing in and out through my mouth to exhaling out of my nose to clear...that's why I now take my time. That has seemed to help but I still don't love it!!!!! I'm doing my OWC this weekend at Lake Rawlings which is in VA. The water temp is about 62 degrees F which is much colder than I am used to and that is kind of freaking me out. I really want to do this, though...and when I'm determined about something...I know I will accomplish it! I'm going to Ft. Lauderdale with the LDS next week and Cabo San Lucas, MX in July. Wish me luck...I need all the help I can get...lolololol

Pam

Howdy!

Welcome to SB!!
:happywave Put us in your computer's favorites and check in often. This is a great place to learn, compare, argue :argue: Look around our various forums - everything from New-To-Scuba to Instructors-Only to Dive Medicine.