So what is a good dry suit for a beginner ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

socc

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello Everyone,

I am quite new to diving and as many people around I am trying to figure out which dry suit should I buy.
What features should the dry suit have for a beginner and why ?
Is it better for a beginner to buy a dry suit that might be a bit more expensive rather that buying one that is less but will give him more confidence with using it ?

My main though about dry suits is the buoyancy control and I see many people in the forum complaining that some drysuits make your life hard in this particular aspect.

Any help would really appreciated !

Thanks,

Socc

The best dry suit for a beginner is a used one! Buy a nice second hand suit to learn how to fly a drysuit and what you like and dislike in a suit. Spend your money on quality undergarments, because that is what keeps you warm. A good used suit can run between $400-800, which is a lot less than $1200-3000. There are always suits going up for sale on this board.

Once you have dove the suit and are proficient then invest in a custom fitted suit of your choice which should last you a lifetime if properly taken care of.

Hope this is useful.

T.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD