Storage and Archiving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

grouchyturtle

Contributor
Reaction score
I'm just getting into the whole UW video thing now. Actually I'm just getting into video in general.

I've done a fair amount of video editing in work, and some of my raw capture files are too big to even fit on a DVD. Problem is hard drives eventually crash.

I was thinking maybe just saving the tapes with the raw footage, but if I ever wanted to re-edit something, it would be a huge PITA to get the video to line up, when I recapture it.

So, where do you save all you old video files?

You're options are limited. You could use another hard drive, either an external or a removeable drive bay. You could use a tape drive (myself I don't trust them). You could re-record the edited video back onto your camcorder (probably the cheapest method), but that doesn't save parts you edited out.
Myself, I've only done a limited amount and once I've done the DVD, I make two copies, make sure they play ok and delete the files.

Short answer: Remove the "trash", organize the non-trash then only archive the result..

Long answer....

I'm new also and am perfecting my workflow. Here is what I'm currently thinking:

1) I pull the tape from the camera, flip the "lock" switch to prevent overwrite and then write a note on the tape. This tape is never written to again.