Trimix - TDI v IANTD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

I've taken both IANTD and TDI courses and I'm an IANTD Advanced Nitrox instructor.

The Standards for the two trimix classes are similar. The max training depth in the IANTD class has been bumped up (I think it's 300 ft now). The IANTD standards can be viewed on there website.

I took the IANTD normoxic trimix class because of the instructor and I took the TDI advanced trimix class because of the instructor. If I ever took another class it'd be because of the instructor.

the_dumper once bubbled...
I have got to a point where I am doing 200ft dives on air and getting well narked, so I guess it's about time to move onto Trimix.
Where I live it's a choice of TDI or IANTD anyone got anything to say about the pros and cons in the different courses that they both offer.

I have friends who get narked at 80 ft and friends who seem perfectly normal at 185 ft on air.

The beautiful thing about helium in your mix is that you can mix your gas so that every dive is like a 100 ft dive, or even like an 85 ft dive if you like.

Here are some questions to put to your respective TDI and IANTD instructors to compare them:

1. Will we be diving with prescribed deco tables, or will we be allowed to use any deco tables or software programs of our choice?

2. What technical skills will we be practicing? (See how many he(she) mentions)

bubble checks
post drills
spare mask deployment
air sharing drills
silt-out procedures
deco bottle exchanging
gas switching stops