U/W & photoshop newbie

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mddolson

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
I'm new to underwater photography, I have an olympus c750 and Ikelite housing.
This is a shot taken in about 10ft of water, with no-flash. It's one of my first taken.
After reading through the tip & techniques and the tutorials, I decided to take a stab at seeing what I could do with the miage. Fortunately we use Photoshop at my place of work.

Here's the original shot. The original is aprox 1600 x 1200 pixels.
I now shoot at max resolution. This was my first day out with the housing
I'll describe what I did to it and I'd appreciate comments and suggestions.
This is my first shot at it.

Mike D

This is my first pass at adjusting the image.
I down loaded the "mandrake" action (underwater3) and used that to adjust the saturation and red replacement.

The image original image has little white streaks caused by the slow shutter speed, and moving particles in the water. I used the healing brush to clean this up and here is the result. I was quite pleased at first, with the improvement.

There were two small areas I was not happy with though.
The mouth area ended up with a blue tint and the yellow coral to the immediate right of the angel fish was too bright and dominant.

Mike D

I read through the "Saving the shark" tutorial and figured this was a good way to attack the two problem areas.

I created two extra layerers , one for the mouth and one for the yellow clump of choral.