"Upstream" regulator design

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

nessmiller

Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Can somebody please explain to me what is meant by an "upsteram" design in a 2nd stage? Along this line, why are the DIR guys so against this design? I'm an engineer, so please don't hold back on the technical details. Thank you!:)

Essentially, it describes the type of valve used in the regulator.

A downstream valve will fail in the free flow position. In other words, you won't be cutoff from your air supply if the valve goes south.

Conversely, an upstream valve will fail in the closed position.

I'll leave the DIR question to more knowledgeable folks. However, I thought that cavers still preferred upstreams for their deco bottles so that they wouldn't lose their deco gas in the event of a failure.

Hi Northeastwrecks:

That about covers it.

Northeastwrecks once bubbled...
Essentially, it describes the type of valve used in the regulator.

A downstream valve will fail in the free flow position. In other words, you won't be cutoff from your air supply if the valve goes south.

Conversely, an upstream valve will fail in the closed position.

Thank you for your reply, but I think that I'm confused.