Urgent advice needed: Dull aching wisdom tooth - can I still dive?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Candyice

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi everyone!

I am hoping a dentist who is also an experienced diver can help me quickly. Is it ok for someone with a tooth decay to dive? :idk:

The reason why I am asking is because I am a beginner to diving (having only dived once ever). However, I have finally made arrangement to have my PADI Open Water Licence on 24th July ~ 27th July.

However starting from 1 week ago my lower right wisdom tooth has caused a dull ache whenever I stretch the muscles around it either by yawning or opened up my mouth too wide. The gums around it is not swollen so I think this is because of a bad tooth decay. I had fillings in before which was years ago and when I consulted my dentist over the phone he was not able to confirm for me whether I can dive or not.

I want to know whether this will seriously affect my diving course if I leave it and wait to have my tooth fixed after my diving? Will it lead to tooth squeeze? I am hoping that I can still complete my divings on 24th July.

Another slight complication is that the earliest appointment I can make is next Friday as I have to fly to another country to see him if I seriously need to get this treated before my diving!

Therefore, I am hoping an experienced dentist diver can answer me whether it is ok for someone with a tooth decay to still dive?

Any help and advice would be much much appreciated :D

Thank you!

Hello Candyice,