Want to buy my own tank but have some Q?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jason McK

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've been reading this area of ScubaBoard for a couple of days now and there is a lot of great info.
What I figured is Steel tanks are negatively buoyant while Aluminium are Positive.
I've only ever dove with aluminium and have at times been under weight for an empty tank.
For a total noob Diver I'm wondering if my best bet is to just add some weight and get aluminium Tank. The cost is sure pointing me in that direction.
But is there any other +/- I can expect if I go with aluminium?

Thanks
Jason

Aluminum is definitely the cheaper way to go, but after diving for awhile, you're going to want steel, especially if you do a lot of shore diving. In the long run, steel is worth every penny..wish I'd come to that conclusion before buying 4 aluminum 80s.

Jason McK:
I've been reading this area of ScubaBoard for a couple of days now and there is a lot of great info.
What I figured is Steel tanks are negatively buoyant while Aluminium are Positive.
I've only ever dove with aluminium and have at times been under weight for an empty tank.
For a total noob Diver I'm wondering if my best bet is to just add some weight and get aluminium Tank. The cost is sure pointing me in that direction.

Thanks
Jason