When To Dive Tiger Beach And Grand Bahama

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kate Rister

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I know the diving is best in the winter, but would it be even worth it to dive Tiger Beach in May around the 10th?

I am an amateur underwater photographer and looking for something new to photograph. I have done the cenotes in Tulum, whale sharks in Isa Mujeres, manatees in Homosassa, and have also dove in Roatan, Ambergris Caye, Cozumel and St. Lucia.

Besides the Tiger Shark Beach, is the rest of the diving in Grand Bahama disappointing? Is there any other shark/dolphin diving in the area? Any recommendations for dive shops or hotels with dive packages?

I cannot do a liveaboard, so that is off the table unfortunately.

I did the shark dive with Stuart Cove which was interesting and spent a week on board one of Blackbeard's vessels (with another shark dive). I thought the diving was fairly good (although nothing like the tropical Pacific where I generally head). As a marine biologist I find most destinations of interest even if they have serious ecological issues (because I like to try to understand the impacts).

Due to my buddy's work we always dive in the late spring. And have dove the Bahamas just not Tiger Beach off Grand Bahama - although I have been there twice. Our trips are always pretty sharky.