which kit?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

zuma022

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I'm a newbie putting together my first underwater kit. I have a Canon s90 and I'm just about to order the Canon housing. I like the FIX housing, but it's out of my price range.
Thanks to the help of people on this forum I've decided to get a S-2000 strobe.
I've seen a couple of options and was wondering if I could get the input of people who know more or maybe have used these combination.

First I saw this kit from backscatter:
Backscatter Inon S-2000 Strobe & Flex Arm Package

Reef Photo gave me this quote:
Inon S-2000 S-TTL Strobe
Inon Optical D Cable (43 cm/L Type)
Fiber Optic Mounting Block
Inon Double Hole Fiber Optic Plug (Rubber Bush Plug)
ULCS TR-D Digital Tray
ULCS TR-DHB Padded Handle w/ Ball for Digital Tray
ULCS DB-05 5" Double Ball Arm
ULCS AD-SSL 3" Adapter for Sea & Sea Strobes
ULCS AC-CSF Clamp, New Style w/ 15° Lateral Movement
Inon Z joint

The second option is more expensive but less than $150. Any opinions or recommendations?

The ULCS arm system is a flexible and professional system able to adapt to any other camera or strobe,
changing only the adapters and/or buying more arm elements.
I still have a flex arm on my G11 rig, but mainly because i had it lying around unused from my Fuji E900 rig.
So i adapted it and work with it as long i have the money to buy the ULCS arm.
If i had to buy a new arm, i would choose a ULCS or similar arm setup.

Chris