Why close the valve 1/4 or 1/2 turn???

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

manumenzella

Registered
Reaction score
Hi!!! I´m 15, and im new to scuba diving!!!
I finished the course some weeks ago. (That first breath underwater, was the best breath of my life :D )
I have a question: why do we need to close the valve 1/2 or 1/4 turn???
I always do it, because my Instructor told me, but i forgot to ask him why.
Sorry for my english!! Thanks!!!
Manuel

Most dive instructors and dive masters always like to check the air on customers tanks before they jump in the water. It is an easy check to turn the valve a quarter turn open, and then back to the originial position. We do this without the customer noticing but it is a quick easy way to make sure that the tank is on before they jump into the water.

Brent

You don't have to. The 'open fully and then back off a half-turn' is an old technique without any real purpose. It also can be dangerous. Every diver is responsible for their own valve setting, and nobody else has any business touching or checking them.

Hi. Thanks for all the answers!
Youre right, its a nice and easy way of making sure the valve is fully open..
Also, as agilis said, you are responsible for your equipment. Thanks again
Manuel

Yeah. Don't do it. It can mess up your pressure readings.

agilis: