Why do I need a Nitrox certification?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jmneill

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
Flamers need not reply. Where I live the LDS's do not question anyone for c cards or Nitrox fills ever. I have a dive computer and use it. I have been using Nitrox for a couple years now and am just wondering why one would want/ need to get certified for reasons other than getting fills why on vacation and what not. Anything I am missing on this? Why is the certification a supposed requirment. In my experience I have only been asked for Nitrox cert proof when in very touristy areas.
I understand it's cheap to get the cert and all, but what valuable knowledge will a avid OW diver that never plans to do any type of technical diving gain from it?
Thanks in advance.

Because relying on a computer to take care of your dive without understand what it is doing and why it is saying what it is saying is simply not safe. Do you have a thorough understanding of Nitrox, MOD's, END's, partial pressure, oxtox, off gassing? Nitrox diving is not simply filing your tanks up, changing your gas mix in your computer, and taking off.

Edit - you may or may not already understand everything their is to know about Nitrox, but from your post it's hard to assume you do. I say this because I feel it is a very unsafe practice to dive a gas you have no training for and do not want others to do the same.