Why do we want to kill the big ones?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

matjo1

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I've been a fisherman all my life. Small stuff really; trout, bass, pike and bluegill. When I moved to florida two months ago to get a job as a scuba instructor, I got interested in spearfishing right away. Who wouldn't right? Well the more I read up on the subject, the more I read about "trophy" fish. Seems it's all a lot of people out there are talking about. All I want to do is bring a few small fish back for supper, but it seems many hunters out there are only out to hunt that big one. To be perfectly honest, I just don't get it. Last time I checked (assuming these numbers are right) 80 to 90 of all big fish have been taken from our oceans. Is that not enough? How can it still be justifiable to kill off the last and best genes of each species of fish? Am I missing something? I know spearfishing is a ecological technique to getting fish on the table because of low by-catch and selective harvesting, but does that mean we have to try to get every last one of them? Yes, everyone has the right to do so, but I think everybody on this board is smart enough to realize that if we all exercise that right, there simply won't be anything left to enjoy. Shouldn't divers automatically consider themselves ambassadors of the underwatewr world? Don't get me wrong, I'm not a crazy-tree-hugging-hippie (although I am a hippie) and I will persue my goal of bringing fish home for supper, I just don't see why it would