Would love some advise!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

meep7

New
Reaction score
Hello, I'm an instructor from Hawaii who is about to spend a year in Oz (hooray for me)! I've been desperately trying to research my employment options beyond fruit picking and waiting tables, so I would love to get in touch with anyone in the dive community who might be able to help. Or even advise on what to expect outside of jobs or diving...

I am PADI OWSI with 2 years full time instructing experience and I'll be arriving on a working and holiday visa in January. My biggest questions are:

Do I have a good chance of finding dive work? Is it common for dive operators to hire employees with my type of visa? (I can only work for 6 months per employer).

Will I need any Australia-specific certifications outside of what is required in the US? (O2/CPR/First aid/insurance)

WHERE is the best place to dive and which dive operators are recommended? Even if I have to resort to PAYING to dive... :wink:

Any information would be very helpful, or even just point me in the right direction... Google is not very good with advise so far. Thanks! :D

In my opinion your best bet would be to email local dive shops with your questions.

Hopefully someone will be able to answer your questions here, but I think you need to narrow down a little about where you hope to get a job, as each state more than likely has different requirements.