BP/W with one piece harness NOT for everyone

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dogbowl

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
Scubaboard is extremely biased FOR the BP/W with one piece harness. I have done a lot of reading on this site and understand the pros of this setup and the cons of jacket-style and other bcds. However, as a newbie, I bought into the notion that BP/W with one piece harness was the ONLY way to go. I was dead set on buying myself a Halcyon Infinity. I am glad I did not. After having dived it with my husband (my husband on 3 dives, me on 1), we realized that it was DEFINITELY not for him, and for me, it might be a good option but not necessarily the BEST option FOR ME at this point in my diving. I am writing this for other newbies to give them an alternative view on the matter.

The reason that the BP/W with one piece harness is not the right set-up for my husband is because of physicality. He is very slim, and has very sloping shoulders. When he has the Halcyon Infinity on, with a stainless steel backplate, STA, weights and tank, the straps literally slip off his shoulders. If he pulls it really tight, the straps really hurt him and if he loosens it, well, it slips right off again. Nothing we did could remedy the situation.

For me, I'm not so slim and my shoulders are pretty much horizontal, so I did not have the slippage problem that he had, but the weight of the gear made the straps dig into my flesh and left marks, especially where the straps went under my arms.