Equipment redundancy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dissaster

Reaction score
Hello, i'm a newbie at diving, i had just finished my AOW course, and my instructor had always told me that she don't like Dive computers with Air management because if by any reason the computer fails, she can't know how much air she has left. She always dive with her computer in her arm and the pressure and depth gauge in the console.

With this in mind, u thought, are there any First Stages with dual High pressure outlets that allow to use at the same time a traditional depth gauge and an Air integrated computer?? or something like a splitter?

Would this be a good idea, or am I just letting my mind go to far??

and, what does other divers think about this?

....I can answer "yes". There are 1. stages with dual HP ports.

AquaLung Legend comes to mind (and is, btw., an excellent 1. stage...)

The dive industry, like others, is full of pretty toys that were designed for the purpose of attracting buyers more than serving a useful purpose.

Redundancy always involves a trade off. having a way out if things go wrong is good but carrying things you don't need is bad.

Personally I think consols were somebodies idea of a good joke to play on divers. They'd make a better boat paddle than a diving tool, I think.

I can't understand why one would need a battery or radio to know how much gas they have.

I can understand why one would need redundant breathing systems.

Think about what it really is that you need during a dive.