Hello from Knoxville TN

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I’m relatively new to diving having only gone on 2 in the past year using rental gear (excluding my certification dives)
and I’m trying to buy gear rn. I mainly want to dive freshwater however I plan to go to the keys next summer. The local shops service aqualung, scuba pro, Cressi, apek, mares, dive rite, hog, and oceanic. Any advice is appreciated! Also I hate Kia souls.

Hi there, I'm also in Knoxville (indifferent to Kia Souls). I know you said mainly freshwater, but are you thinking open water recreational or technical/cave. Truthfully almost any commonly available gear will work fine for basic open water (I dive a cheap reg set and jacket BCD that have been great), but if you know you're headed toward tech/cave diving then that will probably lead you to other options like backplate & wing (BP/W) and/or a sidemount set-up.

Hi there, I'm also in Knoxville (indifferent to Kia Souls). I know you said mainly freshwater, but are you thinking open water recreational or technical/cave. Truthfully almost any commonly available gear will work fine for basic open water (I dive a cheap reg set and jacket BCD that have been great), but if you know you're headed toward tech/cave diving then that will probably lead you to other options like backplate & wing (BP/W) and/or a sidemount set-up.