How do I get started?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KyDodenhoff

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hey Everyone,

I have a big interest in getting into cave diving, but have no idea how to start! I've been certified for two years now with 120 logged dives ranging from Oregon coast spear fishing to Caribbean diving. I have my "Master Diver" from SSI which isnt saying much, but I did take a lot from the Nav, Nitrox, Search and Rescue, Deep diving classes. It sucks living in Oregon where theres not any caverns, springs or even CAVES. I dont want that to stop me though! What Equipment would I need to change from the set up I have now? Does SSI offer any Intro to cavern ETC.? I know it will take tons of hard work and training but I really think it will all pay off in the end! Im all ear's to any help and advice!

Really appreciate it,
Ky

Step 1 - decide whether you want to do Cavern in Florida or Mexico
Step 2 - identify an instructor
Step 3 - get input from that instructor on your current and potential gear config

Not sure if SSI has a cavern course; I know PADI does. Personally I'd recommend getting cavern cert with a Cave instructor from a Cave agency.

I don't blame you, having caught the cave disease early on, myself!