Lens swap, Panasonic Lumix LX10 in Ikelite housing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Marty Bess

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I think this is where I should have posted my question which is I've been using a GoPro for 6 years and want to move on to a basic compact camera so I picked the Panasonic Lumix LX10. Yet to order.

The question is, does anyone know if I can put a wide-angle lens on while diving? Say to the Ikelite housing?

Thanks!!

So long as your port has threads (and the Ikelite LX10 housing does have 67mm threading), you can put on and take off lenses whenever you want. Some caveats apply though:
  • Threading and unthreading lenses underwater can be a bit awkward and it's very easy to cross-thread them. For close-up lenses, consider a flip adapter or a set of magnetic rings. Wide-angle lenses tend to be too large and heavy for those, so you will need a bayonet adapter. Nauticam M67 to bayonet adapter probably won't fit the Ikelite port (it has a narrow groove for the port front flange to go into, and the Ikelite port looks too thick to fit in), but AOI/Fantasea bayonet adapter should be okay.