Need Advice on 1 or 2 piece wet suit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DavidHickey

Contributor
Reaction score
Kingsman, Ohio. Near Wilmington and Waynesville
# of dives
50 - 99
I live in Dayton Ohio. I'm new to diving and want to invest in a wet suit. I love Carribean waters but unfortuanately will probably do most of my dives around the Ohio Indiana and Michigan area. Was looking at the Henderson Titanium suits and have heard good and bad things about them. And I've read a few threads about Bare SGS being warmer and not much stiffer. Anyone have any suggestions? And as far as sizing charts they offer, are they pretty accurate if I mail order it? I'm 6-1 235 lbs and have a size 38 waist and 45" chest. Depending on the brand I could go anywhere from XL to 3XL The brand that came closest was a Bare SGS LXL its measurements were about perfect for me. But until I try it on I guess it will be hard to tell exactly. Any suggestions as far as brand and sizing would be appreciated. Guess I've got my mind set on a 7MM unless anyone can say why I would not want it? I'm doing my open water dives October 23 in a gravel pit and we've already had frost on the windows in the mornings so I'm sure its going to be a little chilly!!!!!
Thanks
David

Hi,
Ok, If you want warmth Bare SGS is the way to go, if you want to be comfortable on the boat but cold in the water without additional money getting wasted then Henderson's are for you.

My 50,000 cents.

Hi David,