Weight in Sizing Equation

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tappakeggadae

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to diving and am looking into buying a 3mm wetsuit for an upcoming vacation. Being a fairly large guy, I am having trouble figuring out what size wet suit I should order. I am 5' 11" and weigh approx. 305 lbs. My wife measured me last night and I fit into the dimensions of Harvey's 4XL Short (a brand my LDS carry's and recommends) in every category except for weight.

I have found that there are not any manufacturers that really make off-the-rack wetsuits for those of us that weigh over 275 lbs. I realize that a custom suit is probably best for a guy my size, but I don't think I'm ready to cough up an additional $200+ for the custom fit (especially considering my weight has been on a steady downward trend for the last 2 months).

My question is how will the additional 30+ lbs. that I carry affect the fit of the suit? Will it bust at the seams because it can not hold in my weight? Is the longevity of the material not going to last? Is there any affect at all?

This sizing stuff really has me confused and any help you can give me is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

TKD

TKD,

You and I are of very similar dimensions (I am 5'11' and 310 lbs) and yeah my weight is on a downward trend (and like every other year the fall of snow is sure to coincide with an upward trend)

I wear an Akona Wetsuit (model unsure) and it is a 4XL.

While the legs are quite long, everthing else fits perfect.