Off the rack wetsuit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Buoyant

New
Reaction score
I'm new to all this and wanted to know any considerations I should have getting my first wetsuit. I'll need to get an off the rack one to fit me.

I noticed in another post somebody talking about liquidfit, and noticed they took a good amount of sizing measurments. Is this fine, or am I better getting measured by the people making the wetsuit?

Any other pointers welcome.

It'll be for casual scuba diving and windsurfing.

Edit - I'm an idiot and phrased this wrong. I don't want off the rack as they don't fit me.

If you are an off the rack person, and most are the eye of a good sales person is all you need. The proof will be when you try it on. If you cannot be fit off the rank and need to go custom then it's always best to be measured by a pro who understands how the maker will utilize the measurements.

How should it fit? Well it should fit like a second skin with a hint of compression especially on the legs and arms. If you had the suit on for a dive you should expect to see the stitching imprinted in your skin when you peel it off.