HELP: Bouancy/weight problems

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
I'm a relative newbie who "thought" I was doing well with my bouancy & weights until a recent trip to Bonaire. Now I'm totally confused & need some help. I have an Oceanic Isla BC with integrated weights. Used this while wearing a skin in Cozumel & Fla. last year and did well with 10# of weight. (I "know" I should be using less weight: BUT... I'm working on it!) Anyway earlier this month we went to Bonaire & I wore a 3mm rather than a skin. After my test dive I thought that I needed 14# (had 4# in each front pocket & 3# in each rear). Well to make a long story short: throughout most of the trip I found that I was tending to stay at an angle (/ head up, feet dangling) rather than horizontal. Didn't really know what this meant until someone told me that I was wieghted too heavily. Unfortunately this was on the next to last day of our trip. Next day I was advised to try dropping to 10# with my weights distributed 3/2 2/3. My bouancy check went well and I found that I was floating much more comfortably and horizontally until I reached 1000 on my tank. Then inspite of venting my BC (Which I routinely do as my air decreases) I was fighting to stay down (and losing the fight). So on the next dive I tried 12#: we were on a boat & didn't have many weight options so I used 3/3 4/2. During this dive I found that I was once again swimming at a slight slant - "and" @ 1000 I was once again having a little trouble staying down. SO..... was I too heavy