Your number one tip to increase your time underwater.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ulfhedinn

-Skill Collector-
Reaction score
Im a heavy breather but Im also a newbie. I have been told that in time i will use less air in my tank. Im averaging 25mins under going from 3100 down to 900/1000. Im looking for tips that will not only me but others new to diving.

Edited info
15-30 feet
80 alum

Last edited:
Im a heavy breather but Im also a newbie. I have been told that in time i will use less air in my tank. Im averaging 25mins under going from 3100 down to 900/1000. Im looking for tips that will not only me but others new to diving.

Your numbers are only meaningful if you give us the average depth and capacity/working pressure of the cylinder you're using.

In any case, here are my recommendations for reducing gas consumption:

(1) Dive a lot
(2) Slow down
(3) Streamline your gear
(4) See (2)
(5) Get horizontal; maintain neutral buoyancy
(6) See (4)
(7) Cardio; hit the gym
(8) See (6)
(9) Minimize excessive movements (don't use your hands, learn to frog kick, etc)
(10) See (8)
(11) Get a scooter. :)

It really does get better with experience. After that, see (2)-(11).

#1 - Stop thinking about it

Once you relax, and just enjoy being in water your air consumption will go down. The reason you are told in time you will use less air is because it is true :) Every single one of us has been there.

Just keep diving, become more comfortable with your skills and gear and everything else will fall into place

1. Relax.