How do I know when I'm ready to start UW photography?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

indigo_dc

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Tried looking for this in the (very useful) tips sticky but couldn't see anything - is there a rule of thumb or way of assessing myself so I know when I have the core dive skills down well enough to consider taking a camera down there?

I'm a keen topside photographer and confident I can handle the technical PHOTOGRAPHY requirements, but with only 7 dives under my belt I wasn't sure if it was too soon to try it out?

I realise without seeing me underwater it's probably impossible to say for definite, but it's more anecdotal/guideline advice I'm more interested in. Basically I have a two week diving holiday in Grand Cayman coming up and want to know if it's worth me getting the camera gear now or not!

Well, I took my first camera down on my first "Discovery" dive two years ago to rattle off some snapshots and video, then I did my OW course last year and on the first dive after that, i.e. my sixth logged dive, I started shooting with a Canon S95 and got these. All were taken on my 6th to 10th dives with only the internal strobe or natural light.

Malaysia 2011

This year I bought myself an Inon S2000 to add to my kit.

I know there are other's who will state you need x number of minimum dives but as long as you use your head and not get too distracted by the camera, then there shouldn't be any issues.