Am I obligated to buy gear from my LDS?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

breechan

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello all, appreciate any advice you can give. :D

Some background:

I recently completed my OW cert in Autumn, and did a bunch of dives on a trip to Australia so I'm still pretty new at diving. I have a 3mm suit, mask, snorkel, fins and booties. Since I live on the Canadian prairies, there's a small diving community and not a lot of competition. I'm a member of my local LDS club which organizes winter pool dives and fun events, lake dives in the summer and trips. I'm really enthusiastic about SCUBA but don't have tons of money to spend.

My question is whether I'm sort of obligated to buy from them. I would want to have my gear serviced by my LDS of course. I'm wondering if I I showed up at the shop wanting to have a reg serviced that I bought off scubatoys (way better prices), would that be taboo? Would they give me a hard time?

Also, would it be a suitable compromise if I bought my regs at the LDS and bought my BC and console online? :idk:

Am I stressing too much over something thats not really that big of a deal?

I just don't want to do something rude or taboo unknowingly. Someone on the scubachat told me yesterday that asking my LDS about used gear was taboo....whoops! :paranoid: