Any recommendations for a lower price good beginner reg?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MarkPorter

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Pretty much the title. I'm new to diving and want to get some of my own gear but it's all very expensive, especially for a new diver who is also a teenager on minimum wage.

Pretty much the title. I'm new to diving and want to get some of my own gear but it's all very expensive, especially for a new diver who is also a teenager on minimum wage.

What's your budget?

You can't beat these guys: I have to admit they are friends. I've known Chris for over 20 years now.

I did a good bit of research before I bought scuba gear for my son and I, and we ended up ordering this package a few years ago: Buy Scuba Gear Value System Package at Low Price | Divers Supply - this is a great economical option that is cheaper than many used sets (especially when you add $$ to have used gear serviced/inspected by a dive shop). Sea Elite is just Divers Supply's store brand on Edge/HOG gear, which is good gear. So, any Edge/HOG dealer can service them, though Divers Supply makes it easy and quick to send in for service (they'll send you a UPS lable), and for Sea Elite gear Divers Supply will provide any parts necessary during maintenance for free.