Apeks Black Sapphire 40yr vs Aqualung Legend LUX Supreme

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

brad.almony

Registered
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am new to diving and the forums. Currently I am still working on getting my open water diver cert from a local dive shop.
I am positive that I want to stick with diving for a long time and am looking for advice on picking between two regs.
Because I travel a lot to colder places I am looking at getting a reg that is designed with cold water in mind.

I like the AL Legend Lux Supreme, it seems to offer great performance at a very similar price to the Apek Black Sapphire 40yr.
Both of the regs are from what I can tell designed for cold water. I have been told that the Apek will be a little bit heavier than the AL.
Also they both have a PVD coating which is supposed to help with durability.

Would you consider Apek quality to be higher than AL?

My local shop can service both regs and from what iv seen the Apek is easy to get serviced just about anywhere and AL seems to have a large service area as well. Just incase if i ever need to get it serviced while i'm not near my local shop.

Has anyone had an experience with both? (i know thats a long shot maybe)
Or just one or the other, what are some of the things you liked, and some of the things you didn't like?

Thanks in advance!

Don't be in a big hurry to invest a lot of money in gear before you are a certified diver, are sure you like it and have some familiarity with various brands of gear.